MEMBER SPOTLIGHT FOR FEBRUARY 2017 – GET TO KNOW MELISSA WALLER!

Name: Melissa Waller

Hometown: Monticello/White Heath, IL

Occupation

Marketing Coordinator – U of I Campus Recreation, Graphic
Designer, Web Designer, and Photographer…..

How long have you been doing CrossFit?

Just over 4 years. Started the
Monday after Thanksgiving in 2012. Got my CrossFit Level 1 cert in Nov
2013 as a way to further my own learning and then the Mobility Certificate
in 2015. Both of these have been invaluable for me personally.

What do you enjoy about CrossFit and being a member at KMC?

CrossFit has been a journey for me. I started when I was completely miserable,
depressed, and obese. One of my photography clients and another
photographer friend were doing it, so I jumped in head first… Why not, I
have tried everything else. I struggled with all movements and had some
wonderful coaches who helped me through. It has been an outlet for me
through my father’s death, a divorce, new job, moving twice, and now
single parenting two pre-teen boys (yes, all within the last 4 years).
Physically and mentally, I feel 100 times better when I am active and each
workout is a sense of accomplishment for me. I love walking in and doing
whatever workout is up on the board. You don’t have to think about it at
all.

CrossFit KMC is the fourth box I have been a member of. You can do any of
these workouts at home or another gym, but it is just not the same. The
community and friendships you create through this type of gym are what
really makes the experience worth it. When I go to the gym, I always try
harder and the encouragement from others is sometimes just what you need
to finish that super hard workout. There are many times I get just as
excited to see someone get their next personal record as much as I am when
I get mine! It does become your second family – who else can relate to the
struggles, pain, and personal bests?

What is your favorite exercise/movement in CrossFit?

I love the overhead lifts!

What is one CrossFit/fitness related goal you are working to achieve?

want to be able to do pull ups again. Had it but lost it. Really want to
be able to do a full push up too. Really, I have a whole list, but the
ability to do something new is what keeps me coming back.

What is your favorite food?

Currently, I can live on sweet potatoes. Can’t live without fresh fruit (I grew up on a fruit farm) and could devour some
cookie dough.

Do you have any favorite sports teams?

Illini all the way! Alma Mater and not a fair weather fan!

Where is ONE place you would like to visit?

Nashville – yes, I am country girl… or anyplace with a white sandy beach and some sunshine!